Skip to main content

New Employee Council representatives

July 7, 2023

Two new members joined the council in June

Photos of George Dorman and Tabitha Ford side-by-side
George Dorman and Tabitha Ford

The Facilities Management Employee Council recently welcomed two new members.

Newly elected council members include:

  • Tabitha Ford, senior custodian with E&G Custodial Services Central Zone, who represents E&G Custodial Services and replaces Bonita White's seat.
  • George Dorman, senior heat plant operator at the Main Heat Plant, who represents the Energy & Utilities teams (Chiller Plants, Heat Plants, Power & Light, Utilities, Utilities Management and Metering) and replaces A.J. Young's seat.

The council is made up of 12 members each representing approximately 100 employees from different areas of FM. Their mission is to foster communication among Facilities Management employees and provide a forum for workplace-related concerns with the intent of improving the working conditions of UVA Facilities Management. See the full list of council members and their representation areas on the FM Employee Council webpage.

Christine Alencar and Ashley Grooms were re-elected as co-chairs of the Employee Council. The following council members were chosen to serve on the UVA Staff Senate: Chelsea Reynolds and George Dorman (new terms) and Les Givens and Michael Minor (re-elected). (Jon Bruneau and Randy Campbell will continue to serve in their existing terms.)

The council's meetings take place during lunchtime (11:30-1 p.m.) on the second Thursday of every month (with a break in the summer), rotating conference room locations. The next regularly scheduled meeting is set for 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 14 in the upper-level conference room in the Leake Building.

About the author

Jane Centofante
Communications senior generalist
UVA Facilities Management
(434) 982-5846